Saturday 5k Park Run Day

by runningwithethiopians

Today I wake not in my own bed but that of one in my fathers house as I am in Wolverhampton for the weekend. I already have my running kit on and in about 30 minutes I will venture outside and make my way towards the city’s park because all over England at 9am on Saturdays 5k runs are held in parks, they are free to enter the concept is called Park Run.

5k is a short distance to run so you run it fast my personal best is about 17 minutes but the world record is 12 mins 37 sec held by Kenenisa Bekele of Ethiopia Bekele is one of the greatest distance runners of all time, owning several world records and an array of medals, I am not going to try and break his record this morning but I am going to run fast and hard.

 

Image

