runningwithethiopians

Pre blog leading up to Ethiopian trip starting Jan 5th 2014 in which I will be spending 3 months running and eating with Ethiopians elite runners

Rib of Beef

I brought this rib of beef yesterday at the farmers market in Brixton it should have cost me £14.00 but the butcher let me have it for £10, you cannot buy rib of beef in the supermarkets here.

Image

The butcher said seal it in the frying pan but it was too big, I did my best and was able to seal the main fillet at the end of the bone.

Image

After slow roasting for 3 hours, I have a great cooker in my camper van it’s gas and serves me well.

DSCN2364

I added some potatoes to the roasting tray about 40 mins before the rib was ready to come out.

DSCN2374

A very nice dinner that will help my muscles repair after todays gruelling gym session.

DSCN2381

Wild not farmed

This is the kind of food thats keeping me healthy whilst training and preparing for Ethiopia. Quinoa, red lentils, plantain, spinach, chilli, rye bread, avocado, wild salmon, by choice I eat wild caught meat and fish not farmed.

DSCN2334

DSCN2339