Ethiopia a country of great people

by runningwithethiopians

I visited Ethiopia back in 2011, my friend Tsegaye Bekele arranged a place for me to stay. I was very happy with all the people I met in Ethiopia, they are strong people, I was told by my friend Tsegaye that Ethiopia was the only African country not to be colonised by the Europeans, the Italians tried but failed in their attempt and were defeated by the Ethiopian army.

I was looked after very well whilst there by Assefa Mezgebu and his family, when I arrived at Bole international airport Tsegaye and Assefa came to pick me up in Assefa’s van, I was taken to Assefa’s family home where I stayed for 10 days, I was fed and looked after as if I was a family member, I was very happy.

I went around Addis Ababa with my friend Tsegaye, we visited the city’s museum where we spent hours walking around looking at objects and reading historical information about Ethiopia. My time in Ethiopia learned me many things about Ethiopian people.

Ethiopian people are very welcoming, they go out of their way to look after you and make sure you are given a place to sleep and food to eat. They are proud, Ethiopian people are proud of their country and love their land, Ethiopia is a very beautiful place.

I am happy to be returning in January 2014, I will be happy to see my friend Tsegaye.

